Top guns lead cricket title chase

Thursday October 13, 2016 Written by Published in Cricket
The undefeated Titikaveka Titans men’s team after their round-three win over Takuvaine at the Happy Valley. 16101230 The undefeated Titikaveka Titans men’s team after their round-three win over Takuvaine at the Happy Valley. 16101230

Titikaveka Titans maintain their lead in the Cook Islands Cricket 2016 men’s competition following another win in the weekly league.


The Titans led by former national rep Matt Beasley defeated Tupapa II by 71 runs at Victoria Park on Saturday.

Batting first, Titans overcame a jittery start to score 128 runs in 20 overs with Brendon Fiebig top scoring on 34 runs from 51 balls followed by big hitter Tristan Metcalf (15), James Keen (15) and Hori Miller 20 runs.

Tupapa II got off to a good start to their run chase with the first wicket falling at 37 runs in the fourth over.

Then came the match winner, Shane Phillips, who took seven wickets including a hat-trick to rattle Tupapa II’s batting order.

He bowled three overs, including one perfect maiden, and conceded only four runs.

Tupapa II were all out for 57 runs in 11 overs.

The 71-run victory sees the Titans maintain their unbeaten run with three wins so far, and two match points each after two matches were declared washout.

In the other men’s match last week, Matavera after a string of losses recorded their first win of the season after beating Takuvaine by 34 runs at the Happy Valley.

Matavera batted first and managed 159 runs with Bobby Hansen top scoring on 51 runs.

In reply, Takuvaine fell short in their chase managing only 125 runs.

Matavera’s Peter Tare, who took a wicket, played well in the match after bowling four overs and conceding only six runs.

Defending champions Turangi maintain their grip on the title race after a five wicket win over Nikao at home.

Turangi batted first and posted 204 runs with a loss of five wickets in 20 overs, with Osalei Akai top scoring on 51.

In reply, Nikao managed only 147 runs for six in 20 overs.

Former champions Tupapa also managed maximum points from round five competition after thumping Arorangi by seven wickets.

Arorangi batted first and were all out for 44 runs in 14 overs and in reply, Tupapa easily managed to achieve their target, scoring 45 runs in four overs with a loss of three wickets.

In the final men’s clash of the round, the previously unbeaten Avana side suffered their first loss of the season going down to Muri Creeps.

Muri scored 120 runs all out in 19th over and in reply Avana managed 109 runs for nine, giving the former a 12 run win.

In the women’s competition, Matavera defeated Takuvaine in a close 10 run win.

Matavera which batted first scored 105 runs in the full opening innings with Apii Tangata top scoring on 49 and in reply, Takuvaine were all out for 95 runs.

Turangi women’s also managed the maximum points in a massive nine wicket win over Nikao.

Nikao batted first and were all out for 40 runs in 11.5 overs and, in reply, Turangi just lost a wicket to post 42 runs in 3.2 overs to romp home with the victory.

June George of Turangi starred in the win after taking five wickets from the four overs she bowled. She conceded only four runs.

Defending women’s champion Muri remain on track for a successful defence after overcoming Avana by six wickets.

The side scored154 runs for four and in reply, Avana managed only 98 runs for five.

The round six competition will be held this Saturday.

Leave a comment