Key CIP positions to be contested

Friday August 10, 2018 Written by Published in Politics
Prime minister Henry Puna’s position as president of the Cook Islands Party will be contested at the party’s conference on Monday. 18080904 Prime minister Henry Puna’s position as president of the Cook Islands Party will be contested at the party’s conference on Monday. 18080904

Nominations are open for the top roles in the governing Cook Islands Party (CIP) in the lead up to its conference on Monday next week.

Key positions such as party leader, now occupied by prime minister Henry Puna and the president’s post, held by Nga Jessie, will be among roles contested during the conference, to be held at the AOG Church in Takuvaine from 2pm.

Puna was first elected CIP leader in 2006 following the retirement of former party leader and prime minister Sir Geoffrey Henry.

The local lawyer subsequently lost his seat in the Manihiki constituency to Apii Piho of Democratic Party in the 2006 election and was not able to serve parliament as the leader of the Opposition.

The post was then held by current Queen’s Representative Tom Marsters.

In 2009 Puna was unanimously re-elected as party leader and led the CIP to two consecutive election wins in 2010 and 2014, also serving as the country’s prime minister.

In the 2018 elections, the CIP narrowly lost to Democratic Party by one seat but managed to gain the support of the two independent and One Cook Islands movement MPs, to gain a majority.

The 2018 general election result is still under dispute with six petitions, including four from the Democratic Party, currently before the High Court. The petition hearings will start later this month.

Meanwhile an address from Puna, the president’s report, a financial report, the director of policy’s report, electorate reports and issues, and the caucus report are other important items on the conference agenda.


2pm Registration of Delegates; 2:15pm Roll Call; 2:30 pm Opening Prayer, 1. Welcome - President, 2. Leader’s Address (followed by CIP anthem) – Hon Henry Puna; minute of silence in honour of founding members, presidents and vice-presidents and those others who gave much to the party and have passed away. Introduction of Puna representatives; President’s report, Financial Report; Director of Policy’s Report; Electorate (puna) Reports and Issues; Caucus Report; Other Matters.

Election of Office Bearers (party executives) – Patron(s) - Papa Rau Nga, Party Leader – Henry Puna, President – Nga Jessie, Vice-President – Tereapii Charlie, Doreen Boggs, Secretary General – Nooroa Soko Roi, Assistant Secretary General – Ina Kamana, Treasurer – Michael Savage, Director of Finance - Nooroa Soko Roi, Director of Development and Membership – Vacant, Director of Policy and Media – Vaine Wichman, Director of Youth - Regina Potini, Director of Gender Development – Aunty Ake Lewis; Closing Address by the Leader; Address by Party Patron; Address by the President; Closing Prayer Service

Leave a comment