No change to election result

Friday June 29, 2018 Written by Published in Politics
George Maggie will remain One Cook Islands’ sole Member of Parliament following the final vote count this week. 18062818 George Maggie will remain One Cook Islands’ sole Member of Parliament following the final vote count this week. 18062818

The Cook Islands Party (CIP) remains confident of forming government again despite the final count earlier this week showing no change to the result announced on the night of the June 14 election.

The Electoral Office yesterday confirmed the Democratic Party has won 11 seats and the CIP 10 seats. Independent candidates have two seats and the One Cook Islands (OCI) movement still has one seat after George Maggie’s win in Tupapa-Maraerenga.

The final counting, done over two half days on Tuesday and Wednesday, took into consideration the significant number of votes that were not counted on election night, including votes by declaration, and advance, special and postal votes.

The final count recorded a total of 8638 votes – about 84 per cent of the voters registered for this year’s elections. The preliminary result accounted for a total of 7403 votes.

The parties now have seven days to file any petitions before work on finalising the government begins.

CIP campaign manager and incumbent finance minister Mark Brown said the party had been hoping for additional seats, but added they were happy to hold the seats they had won on election night.

“We are happy to hold on to our numbers and we are confident of confirming the government in the next few days,” Brown said. Democratic Party leader Tina Browne said that over the next seven days, they would be busy preparing petitions for filing, if any were necessary.  “Neither of the two main parties have the required numbers to form a government, so discussions with OCI and other successful candidates will likely take place during the next few days,” Browne said.

Final result

George Maggie Angene (OCI) for the Tupapa-Maraerenga Constituency, Mark Stephen Brown (CIP) for the Takuvaine-Tutakimoa Constituency, Albert Taaviri Kaitara Nicholas (CIP) for the Avatiu-Ruatonga Constituency, Vaine Makiroa Mokoroa (CIP) for the Nikao Constituency, William William Heather (Demos) for the Ruaau Constituency, Nooroa o Teariki Baker (Demos) for the Akaoa Constituency, Patrick Akaiti Arioka (CIP) for the Murienua Constituency, Selina Napa (Demos) for the Titikaveka Constituency, Tamaiva Tuavera (Demos) for the Ngatangiia Constituency, Vaitoti Tupa (Demos) for the Matavera Constituency, Terepai Maoate (Demo) for the Amuri-Ureia Constituency, Tereapii Maki-Kavana (CIP) for the Arutanga-Reureu-Nikaupara Constituency, Kitai Manuela Teinakore (Demos) for the Vaipae-Tautu Constituency, Wesley Kareroa (Demos) for the Oneroa Constituency, Anthony Toruariki Armstrong (Demos) for the Ivirua Constituency, Tetangi Matapo (Demos) for the Tamarua Constituency, Vainetutai Rose Toki-Brown (Independent) for the Teenui-Mapumai Constituency, Te-Hani Rose Alexandra Brown (Demos) for the Tengatangi-Areora-Ngatiarua Constituency, Tai Tura (CIP) for the Mauke Constituency, Tuakeu Tangatapoto (CIP) for the Mitiaro Constituency, Toka Hagai (CIP) for the Rakahanga Constituency, Henry Tuakeu  Puna (CIP) for the Manihiki Constituency, Tingika Elikana (CIP) for the Pukapuka Constituency, Robert Taimoe Tapaitau (Independant) for the Penrhyn Constituency

Leave a comment