Fifty-eight compete for 24 seats

Tuesday May 01, 2018 Written by Published in Politics
Media owner George Pitt is standing as an independent in Takuvaine-Tutakimoa. Media owner George Pitt is standing as an independent in Takuvaine-Tutakimoa.

The governing Cook Islands Party (CIP) and leading opposition party, the Democratic Party are fielding 23 candidates each in the 2018 General Elections which will be held on June 14.


Yesterday chief electoral officer Taggy Tangimetua announced the names of 58 candidates who are contesting the elections under the banners of CIP, Democratic Party, One Cook Islands (OCI), Independent, Titikaveka Oire and

“Alternative Must Ravenga Openga”.

The CIP has fielded candidates in all the constituencies except for the populous Tupapa Maraerenga seat, held by One Cook Islands’ George Maggie.

The Democratic Party will not contest for the Arenikau seat in Aitutaki.

“The Democrats are not fielding a candidate there (Arenikau) to honour its agreement with OCI that the Democrats will lend its support to the OCI candidate there,” the Democratic Party said in a statement.

“This was an arrangement that was sanctioned during the by-election in the constituency after Teina Bishop resigned from it.”

The Titikaveka seat held by Democratic Party’s Selina Napa will be contested by the most candidates.

Napa will battle against Margharet Matenga (Independent), Moeroa Thomas-Tamangaro (Cook Islands Party), Teava Iro (Titikaveka Oire) and John Tumutoa (One Cook Islands) in her bid to retain her seat.



Tupapa Maraerenga - George Maggie Angene (One Cook Islands), Lee Harmon (Democratic Party), Teresa Manarangi-Trott (Independent);

Takuvaine-Tutakimoa - Mark Stephen Brown (Cook Islands Party), Teokotai George (Democratic Party), George Pitt (Independent);

Avatiu-Ruatonga - Albert Taviri Kaitara Nicholas (Cook Islands Party), Teina Rongo (Democratic Party);

Nikao Panama - Vaine Makiroa Mokoroa (Cook Islands Party), Ngamau Mere Munokoa (Democratic Party); Ruaau - William William Heather (Democratic Party), Arama Joseph Wichman (Cook Islands Party); Akaoa - Nooroa o Teariki Baker (Democratic Party), Teariki William Heather (Cook Islands Party);

Murienua - Patrick Akaiti Arioka (Cook Islands Party), James Vini Beer (Democratic Party), Teariki Taraare Unuka (One Cook Islands); Titikaveka - Margharet Matenga (Independent), Selina Napa (Democratic Party), Moeroa Thomas-Tamangaro (Cook Islands Party), Teava Iro (Titikaveka Oire), John Tumutoa (One Cook Islands);

Ngatangiia - Tukaka Ama (Cook Islands Party), Tamaiva Tuavera (Democratic Party); Matavera - Vaitoti Tupa (Democratic Party), Kiriau Turepu (Cook Islands Party); Amuri-Ureia - Toanui Isamaela (Cook Islands Party), Terepai Maoate (Democratic Party);

Arutanga-Reureu-Nikaupara - Tereapii Maki-Kavana (Cook Islands Party), Isaraela Pumati (One Cook Islands); Vaipae-Tautu - Mona Ioane (Cook Islands Party), Kitai Manuela Teinakore (Democratic Party);

Oneroa - Wesley Kareroa (Democratic Party), Teina Ngametuatoe (Cook Islands Party); Ivirua - Anthony Toruariki Armstrong (Democratic Party), Marion Harry (Cook Islands Party);

Tamarua - Tetangi Matapo (Democratic Party), Mia Teaurima (Cook Islands Party); Teenui-Mapumai - Tania Akai (Democratic Party), Vainetutai Rose Toki-Brown (Independent), Tereapii Porio (Cook Islands Party);

Tengatangi-Areora-Ngatiarua - Te-Hani Rose Alexandra Brown (Democratic Party), Norman George (Alternative Must Ravenga Openga), Nandi Tuaine Glassie (Cook Islands Party);

Mauke - Belezadala Tangata William Tararo (Democratic Party), Tai Tura (Cook Islands Party), Tungane Williams (One Cook Islands);

Mitiaro - Tuakeu Tangatapoto (Cook Islands Party), Tangata Vavia (Democratic Party);

Rakahanga - Tina Pupuke Browne (Democratic Party), Toka Hagai (Cook Islands Party);

Manihiki - Tereapii Piho (Democratic Party), Henry Tuakeu Puna (Cook Islands Party);

Pukapuka-Nassau - Tingika Elikana (Cook Islands Party), Junior Willie Katoa (Democratic Party);

Penrhyn - Willie John (Cook Islands Party), Wilkie Olaf Patua Rasmussen (Democratic Party), Robert Taimoe Tapaitau (Independent)


Leave a comment