JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 2928

Two new school principals appointed

Saturday January 12, 2019 Written by Published in Education

Two new principals have been appointed and five others have been reappointed to Cook Islands schools this year.


A media release from the Ministry of Education announced yesterday that principal appointments for all schools in the Cook Islands had been made for 2019. 

Gaylyn Lockington will be taking up the principal position at Araura College, Aitutaki, after performing a leadership role at Titikaveka College for the past four years.

The head position at Titikaveka College will be filled by Vae Unuka who is returning to a principal role after some years of being back in the classroom, most recently teaching science at Tereora College.

Five principals have been reappointed to their positions: Mairi Heather at Apii Arorangi and Tania Morgan at Tereora College. In the Pa Enua, reappointments include Michael Papatua to Mangaia School, Christopher Story to Apii Mitiaro and Anna Katoa to Apii Niua on Pukupuka.

Education secretary Danielle Cochrane congratulated the successful applicants and said she looked forward to an exciting year of learning for all Cook Islands schools.

Term one of 2019 will begin on January 28. Two official teacher-only days will begin from Thursday January 24, with some schools starting these days earlier in the week. 

Leave a comment