Students + mathematics + fun

Friday November 18, 2016 Written by Published in Education

National Maths Quiz success FOR THOSE who have never attended the National Maths Quiz, it may sound like a dull event.  It is quite the opposite! 


With 19 schools participating, the 2016 National Maths Quiz was an exhilarating experience for spectators and students alike. 

The event was held at the National Auditorium.  

This year’s participating schools included Akatemia Imanuela, Araura Primary, Araura College, Arorangi, Avarua, Enuamanu, Mangaia, Mitiaro, Nikao, Nukutere College, Papaaroa, Rutaki, St Joseph, Takitumu, Tekaaro, Tereora College, Te Uki Ou, Titikaveka College, and Vaitau.

There are five rounds of competition, one for each age group from students in Year 6 through to students in Year 10.

Each school may enter one or two teams into the competition. 

Teams of four students work together to solve 20 questions in 20 minutes. 

While teams are working to solve problems, Year 13 students from Tereora College mark the results of the questions and project the scores for the audience in real time. 

This year, tie-breaking questions were needed at two levels to determine the prize getters. 

At Year 7 there was a tie breaking round for first prize between Avarua and Nikao and Year 8 required two tie-breaking questions to settle the battle for second prize between Avarua and Papaaroa.

Staff at the Ministry of Education, supported by the Maths Quiz Panel run this annual event.  This year, the event was opened and attended by the Minister of Education Henry Puna. 

Here are the winning teams for each level:  Takitumu took first place in Year 6, Avarua won first prize after beating out Apii Nikao in a tie-breaker.  

Apii Nikao came back to win in Year 8, Titikaveka College walked away with the top prize for Year 9 and Tereora College had the top marks in Year 10.

The Pa Enua schools also turned heads when Araura College made their presence known by grabbing second place in the Year 10 round.  

Prizes were also given for highest scores.  The highest Rarotonga primary team score was earned by Nikao Year 8, while the highest Pa Enua primary team score went to Mangaia Year 7.   Titikaveka Year 9 took home the prize for the highest Rarotonga secondary team score and the Pa Enau secondary team with the highest score was earned by Mangaia Year 9. 

The overall winner for the highest Rarotonga team score was Nikao Year 8 and for the Pa Enua it was Mangaia Year 7. 

The Ministry of Education would like to congratulate all participating schools and students in the Maths Quiz event. 

There were many close scores in this year’s Maths Quiz, including teams who were just edges out of the first three places and the efforts by all students are commendable.

The Ministry of Education would also like to formally thank the sponsors for their thoughtful contribution:  Air Rarotonga, Bank of the South Pacific, CITC, Moana Gems, Edgewater Spa and Resort, KPMG, Asiaciti Trust, Southpac Trust, Portcullis Trustnet Ltd, the Cook Islands Trust Corporation Ltd, Vaima Pacific Spring Ltd.

This event would not have been possible without their generosity. 

It is humbling to see how the private sectors and the community willingly support the educational events for the benefit of all learners in the Cook Islands.

            - Release 


Leave a comment