Teachers honoured for fine work

Saturday December 19, 2015 Published in Education

“We don’t have a job, we have a passion,” was one of many comments that resonated with the gathering of teachers and supporters last week for the Annual Teachers Awards ceremony.


It was the teachers’ turn to be acknowledged and rewarded for their hard work throughout the 2015 academic year both as teachers and in some cases, as students.

Present at the awards were Minister of Health Nandi Glassie on behalf of Prime Minister Henry Puna, New Zealand High Commissioner Nick Hurley, Nikao MP Ngamau Munokoa (Aunty Mau), Secretary of Education Gail Townsend and sponsors. Eleven teachers were recognised in four areas: Certificate in Introduction to Teacher Aiding, teacher qualifications, first-time principals and teaching awards.

Award results:

Teacher from Pa Enua Award: Terangi Tamati, Araura College; Rarotonga ECE Teaching Award: Theresa Noovao, St Josephs School; Rarotonga Primary Teaching Award: Piriangoao Puna, Apii Nikao; Rarotonga Secondary Teaching Award: Delaney Yaqona, Nukutere College and Principals Leadership Award, Engia Baxter Takitumu School.

                - MoE

Leave a comment